Istanbul, my love… my home

istanbul_01

O Istanbul. How you have changed me. How you have given me love. How you have given me freedom.

It’s truly amazing. Never would it have crossed my mind how many emotional loopholes I would have to go through by just being here in Istanbul. It’s even mindbobbling. There’s so many things rushing through my mind, body and soul. I can in no way express it. That may be the very sad thing about it, but till some extend it frees me of having to explain myself so somebody. I can live through these emotions on my own and in al its purity.

It may sound incredibly f*cked. But that is what it is. I feel truely happy by just being here in Istanbul. I do feel. And that is a realization I have been waiting for quite a while now. With these emotions it is bloody hard to even imagine going back to Belgium. I want to stay here. Here in the city of Sultans. In the city I can call home.

(written on the ferry Besiktas-Kadiköy 2/08/09

Leave a Reply

